What Are The Chakras In Yoga?

For beginners and novice yogis, yoga is all about the various poses and breathing activities that you do.

What Are The Chakras In Yoga?

Yet yoga is much more complex than this. There are entire systems of belief that lie behind yoga practices. One of the most popular belief systems is the chakras. 

Chakras are energy centers that are believed to be present in the human body. Through yoga, these centers of energy can be activated.

Continue reading to discover what these parts of the body are and how they can be used in yoga.

What Is A Chakra?

Essentially, many people believe that there are specific focal points of the body that can be tapped into.

During certain activities, such as meditation, a person can connect with these chakras.

There are different beliefs about the number of chakras in the body.

Buddhists regularly maintain that there are 5 chakras, while other faiths, such as Hinduism, believe that there are 6 or 7 chakras.

What Are The Chakras In Yoga?

What Are The Chakras In Yoga?

Root Chakra

Also known as Muladhara, the root chakra is connected to the foundation or base of the body.

This chakra is all about balance and stability. The root chakra can symbolize all of the things that you need in life, such as food and shelter.

Located near the coccyx, the root chakra is one of the lower chakras.

If you wish to activate this chakra, some of the exercises that you should do include the mountain or tree pose.

These are strong poses that are all about building a strong foundation, hence they are appropriate for the root chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura, more commonly known as the solar plexus, is a chakra related to your core.

The solar plexus is a part of the body located in the pit of the stomach near the aorta.

Many people link this chakra to a person’s confidence, meaning that this quality comes from your core. It can also be linked to self-discovery.

If you wish to make your solar plexus chakra more balanced, you should try the bow pose.

This exercise is a fantastic method of working the core. You can also try the triangle pose.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra (Svadhishthana) is tied to the reproductive parts of the human body.

Many theologians link the sacral chakra to emotions. It is said to be the center of one’s desires and creativity.

So if you’ve been experiencing a lack of creativity, you should activate the sacral chakra. This chakra can be hampered by fear.

The dancing goddess or the lizard pose can activate your sacral chakra.

Throat Chakra

As you may have guessed, the throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is positioned at the throat.

Linked to communication, it focuses not only on speaking but also on listening. 

Hence, some people position the throat chakra as being located at the neck. The throat chakra is also said to be a point of purification.

The fish pose is a wonderful way of activating one’s throat and neck.

You may also wish to try a shoulder stand, though it is best to do this when supported by a wall, especially if you are a yoga novice.

Heart Chakra

Though it may sound obvious, the heart chakra is located at the heart. The heart chakra is also referred to as Anahata.

It is a point of love and is connected to the power to make decisions. Hence the term “follow your heart.”

If you desire to connect to your heart chakra, you might want to try the camel pose.

Known as Ustrasana, the camel pose is a back-bending exercise that puts your chest in the air. Thus, your heart becomes more prominent.

Alternatively, you can try the humble warrior. 

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra also has the name Sahasrara. This chakra is quite abstract and, unlike other chakras, is not related to a specific part of the body.

However, many people relate it to the crown of a person’s head, hence the name. This is because it represents a person’s consciousness.

If you wish to get in touch with your crown chakra, you will need to find exercises that allow you to find your spiritual side.

The corpse pose, or Savasana, is one of the best ways of doing this.

Though the name is rather morbid, the corpse pose is an easy and effective way of getting in touch with one’s consciousness.

Alternatively, you can try the crocodile pose, which emphasizes the mind. 

Third Eye Chakra

Last but not least, the third eye chakra is also named Aagnya or Ajna. This chakra symbolizes a person’s unconscious mind.

This is perhaps the most interesting chakra, as it is connected to a person’s ability to communicate and their perception of reality.

Via the third eye chakra, a person can imagine other realities.

The third eye chakra can be found on your forehead, specifically in between your eyebrows.

As you can imagine, few yoga exercises directly target this area. Yet, you can try meditation.

If you prefer poses, you can opt for the lotus pose, child’s pose, or the folded eagle.

How Can You Activate These Chakras?

If you wish to work a chakra, you should try corresponding yoga poses. This can include our previous suggestions.

For instance, if you wish to work on your root chakra, you should use a pose that relates to stability. A pose that is focused on the heart will not activate this chakra.

Many people also use chakras to get in touch with chakras. This can be done by placing a specific crystal on a chakra. 

You can even incorporate these crystals into your yoga. This can be done by meditating while holding a crystal or by placing them in your yoga studio.

Final Thoughts

By connecting with your chakras through yoga, you can become spiritually enlightened.

You encourage energy to flow through your body and to particular areas.

Make sure that you choose the right poses so that you can maximize your perception of your bodily energy.

Return to ‘Types of Yoga’ blogs

Angela Frederik
Latest posts by Angela Frederik (see all)